What are the IPL fantasy points systems?

Jan 27, 2024

The Indian Premier League, or IPL, is one of the most popular T20 cricket leagues in the world, with fans from all over the globe tuning in to watch their favorite teams and players in action. In addition to the live action, many fans also take part in fantasy leagues, where they pick a team of players and earn points based on their performances in real-life IPL matches.

If you're new to the world of IPL fantasy, you may be wondering how the points system works. In this blog, we'll take a closer look at the IPL fantasy points system, including how points are awarded and what you need to do to score big.

Firstly, let's take a look at the different categories of players in an IPL fantasy team. There are four categories:

  • 1 Batsmen
  • 2 Bowlers
  • 3 All-rounders
  • 4 Wicket-keepers

Each category has its own specific set of criteria for earning points, and the number of players you can select from each category is typically limited to a certain number.

Now, let's take a closer look at how points are awarded to players:


  • • 1 point for every run scored
  • • 1 point for every four hit
  • • 2 points for every six hit
  • • 2 points for a strike rate of 120 or higher (min of 10 balls faced)


  • • 25 points for every wicket taken
  • • 8 points for every maiden over bowled
  • • 4 points for an economy rate of under 6 runs per over (min of 2 overs bowled)
  • • 2 points for an economy rate of between 6 and 8 runs per over (minimum of 2 overs bowled)


  • • Points are awarded for both batting and bowling performances, using the criteria above.


  • • 1 point for every run scored
  • • 10 points for every catch taken
  • • 20 points for every stumping

In addition to the above, there are also bonus points available for individual performances. For example, a player who scores 50 runs or takes 4 wickets in a match will earn bonus points.

It's worth noting that the points system may vary slightly depending on the specific fantasy league you're playing in, but the criteria above are a good starting point for understanding how IPL fantasy points are awarded.

In conclusion, the IPL fantasy points system is a great way for cricket fans to get involved in the action and test their knowledge of the game. By understanding how points are awarded to players, you can make informed decisions when selecting your team and maximize your chances of coming out on top. So, get ready to start earning points and enjoy the excitement of the IPL!

Try it for Free

Disclaimer: The names of any fantasy sports apps or websites used in this blog are solely for the purpose of providing information to readers and do not imply endorsement, sponsorship, or affiliation with the mentioned companies. These names are not intended to create confusion or mislead readers. We are not responsible for any consequences that may arise from using this information.

PerfectLineup © 2024. All Rights Reserved